AlphaGo vs Lee Sedol match details

The much anticipated battle between the AI software AlphaGo created by Google-owned Deep Mind will face its most challenging human foe yet – the champion player of the ancient Chinese game Go, Lee Sedol. Since the games will be played in Seoul, Korea, the official times and dates are based on Korean time. It will be a five-day battle between Man vs AI, each game starts at 1:00 PM Seoul time. DeepMind will be streaming the games live on their Youtube channel. Click the YouTube video above to watch the first match live here.

The 5 day battle starts on Wednesday, 9th March 2016.

  • Wednesday, March 9
  • Thursday, March 10
  • Saturday, March 12
  • Sunday, March 13
  • Tuesday, March 15

The games start at 1:00 PM Seoul time, in other time zones it should be;

  • 8:00 PM on the previous day, US Pacific Standard Time (Los Angeles)
  • 11:00 PM on the previous day, US Eastern Standard Time (New York)
  • 4:00 AM, Coordinated Universal Time (GMT, London)
  • 5:00 AM, Central European Time (Berlin)
  • 12:00 PM, China Standard Time (Beijing)
  • 3:00 PM, Australian Eastern Daylight Time (Sydney).

Man Vs AI, who do you think will win?


AlphaGo is a computer program developed by London-based Artificial Intelligence firm Google DeepMind to play the board game Go. In October 2015, it became the first computer Go program to beat a professional human Go player without handicaps on a full-sized 19×19 board. AlphaGo’s algorithm uses a combination of machine learning and tree search techniques, combined with extensive training, both from human and computer play.


Lee Se-dol (born 2 March 1983) is a South Korean professional Go player of 9-dan rank. As of February 2016, he ranks second in international titles behind only Lee Chang-ho.



There are no comments

Add yours